Site hosted by Build your free website today!
Chewy Candy

      Candy is made by dissolving sugar in water or milk to form a syrup, which is boiled until it reaches the desired concentration or starts to caramelize. The type of candy depends on the ingredients and how long the mixture is boiled. Candy comes in an endless variety of textures from soft and chewy to hard and brittle. Some examples of candy are: caramel, toffee, fudge, praline, tablet, gumdrops, jelly beans, rock candy, lollipops, taffy, cotton candy, candy canes, peppermint sticks, peanut brittle, chocolate-coated raisins or peanuts, hard candy (called boiled sweets in British English) and candy bars.
     Some candy, including marshmallows and gummi bears, may contain gelatin derived from animal keratin, a protein found in skin, hair, nails, hooves, horns, and teeth, and is thus avoided by vegetarians and vegans. "Kosher gelatin" is also unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans, as it is derived from fish bones.[4] Other substances, such as agar, pectin, starch and gum arabic may be used as gelatin replacers, although the texture of final product may differ from the original.

Other ingredients commonly found in candy that are not vegetarian or vegan friendly include: carmine, which is a dye made from the cochineal; and confectioner's glaze, which may contain wings or other insect parts.
   Skittles           Back To Candy